Nijubashi bridge is one of Japan’s famous bridge located in Tokyo. Nijubashi means double bridge. It is a bridge that is called collectively as Nijubashi, however, it consists of two bridges namely Seimon Ishibashi and Seimon Tetsubashi. Seimon Ishibashi is the bridge that connects to the National Garden. When these two bridges looked upfront looks like one bridge hence the name Nijubashi.
These bridges connect to the Imperial Palace where the Seimon Ishibashi is a stone bridge and Seimon Tetsubashi is the iron bridge that is constructed. History is that the bridges were constructed by Tokugawa Hidetada during the 17th Century. These bridges were constructed with a secondary level wooden support system, which included the 2nd level bridge.
The bridges were constructed to be a path towards the palace and they were the main entrance to the Tokyo Castle. There was a wooden bridge before which was destroyed and made into an iron bridge in the year 1888, again reconstructed during the year 1964. Also, another bridge was torn down to be made into a now-famous stone bridge in 1887.
Nijubashi being the bridge which makes it direct contact to Tokyo Castle (Imperial Palace) the bridge is opened only during special events when there are any official visits, and for citizens, it is opened during 2nd January and on 23rd December which is the Emperor’s official birthday.
The bridge is located in Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo and to enter here you can take Metro and get down at Exit 6 of Nijubashi-Mae Station on the Tokyo Metro Chiyoda Line, or from Exit D2 of Otemachi Station on the Toei Mita Line.